Advisory Board


Betsy Taylor: President of Breakthrough Strategies & Solutions, Inc., Betsy has extensive experience in the non-profit, sustainability, and social movement worlds. In the early 80s she served as International Representative for the Nuclear Weapons Freeze Campaign. In the late 90s she helped found and directed the Center for a New American Dream. She is the co-author of Sustainable Planet: Solutions for the 21st Century and author of What Kids Really Want That Money Can’t Buy. 



David Spratt: Co-author of "Climate Code Red" (2008) and papers including Climate Reality Check and, with Ian Dunlop, "Dangerous Climate Warning: Myth, Reality, and Risk Management." (or see the video presentation) David's work has demonstrated a courageous dedication to climate truth.



Elizabeth YeampierreExecutive Director of UPROSE, Brooklyn's oldest Latino community based organization. Ms.Yeampierre was the Director of Legal Education and Training at the Puerto Rican Legal Defense Fund, Director of Legal Services for the American Indian law Alliance and Dean of Puerto Rican Student Affairs at Yale University. Elizabeth is the first Latina Chair of the US EPA National Environmental Justice Advisory Council.



Laura Dawn Murphy: Founder and Creative Director of Art Not War, former Creative Director for MoveOn.Org, accomplished musicianvideo director, book editor and activist. Laura Dawn is a true expert of the intersection of art and organizing. Laura Dawn is thoroughly dedicated to bringing climate truth, and the need for mobilization, to the forefront of the cultural consciousness. 



Laurence Delina: Scholar on climate mobilization, specializing in governance issues and sustainable development. His paper, "Is wartime mobilisation a suitable policy model for rapid national climate mitigation" in Energy Policy introduced mobilization to the academy as a serious policy option, while also laying out its challenges. Laurence is currently a post-doctoral associate at Boston University. He has also worked as a consultant to the UN and as a development banker in the Philippines.




Rev. Lennox Yearwood, Jr.: President of the Hip Hop Caucus, minister, community activist, and organizer of high-profile campaigns to engage young voters. He is a national leader of the green movement, calling for climate justice and a zero emissions imperative for the United States.



Lise Van Susteren: Psychiatrist, organizer, and expert on the intersection of climate change and mental health. Lise serves on Harvard's Center on Public Health and the Global Environment and convened the group Interfaith Moral Action on Climate. She is a contributor to Huffington Post and other blogs. 



Marshall Herskovitz: Film director, writer, and producer, and former President of the Producers Guild of America. Marshall is a staunch advocate of a World War II-scale climate mobilization and has advised TCM since its pre-launch days.  



Michael E. Mann: Director of the Earth System Science Center at Penn State University, lead author on the IPCC Third Assessment Report, and courageous fighter for climate truth in the face of politically motivated attacks on science. Michael is also an advocate of a WWII-scale climate mobilization.



Paul Gilding: Former executive director of Greenpeace International, entrepreneur and sustainability leader, and author of the widely acclaimed book "The Great Disruption" (2011), an account of humanity's capacity to mobilize rapidly against the civilizational threat of climate change.



Philip Sutton: Co-author of "Climate Code Red" (2008), longtime advocate of WWII-scale climate mobilization, and Australian leader in climate activism. Philip has advised TCM since before its launch, helped write the Pledge to Mobilize, and has been invaluable in helping us make the scientific argument for an emergency climate mobilization. 



Richard Heinberg: Senior Fellow of the Post Carbon Institute, educator, prolific journalist and author of twelve books, including some of the seminal works on society's current energy and environmental sustainability crisis.


Russell Greene: Climate emergency activist, business leader, singer –songwriter and poet. Former Executive Vice President of the Cheesecake Factory. Russell serves as co-chair for the Justice Action Mobilization Network and Board President for People Demanding Action. He is an elected delegate to the California Democratic Party and was appointed a Democratic Platform Committee Member for Senator Sanders. He was able to pass multiple climate amendments, including one calling for mobilization on the scale of WWII to confront the climate emergency. 



Tom Weis: President of Climate Crisis Solutions, presidential campaign veteran, former congressional aide, co-founder of American Wind Wildlife Institute and creator of Ride for Renewables (a project to achieve 100% renewable electricity for the U.S. in ten years). A long time advocate of a WWII-scale climate mobilization, Tom played a lead role in defeating Keystone XL North and helped pioneer the zero emissions concept.